Ärztinnen und Ärzte in einer Sitzung

European Guidelines: Systemic Treatment of Psoriasis vulgaris 2009

The project for the development of European evidence-based guidelines for the systemic treatment of Psoriasis vulgaris started in January 2006. It was supported by the European Dermatology Forum (EDF) in cooperation with the European Academy of Dermatology and Venereology (EADV) and the International Psoriasis Council (IPC).

You are here:

Information about the guidelines

Due to a gradual approach, the development was divided into:

  • Guideline on the systemic treatment of psoriasis vulgaris
  • Guideline on the systemic treatment of psoriasis and arthritic involvement
  • Guideline on systemic maintenance therapy of Psoriasis
  • Guideline for the topical treatment of psoriasis vulgaris

The first step was achieved with the publication of the Guideline on Systemic Therapy of Psoriasis Vulgaris in the October 2009 issue of the JEADV.

A multidisciplinary group of experts consisting of dermatologists from several European countries, two US dermatologists and other relevant medical groups, including two patient representatives, were involved in the development of these guidelines.

The methodological coordination was undertaken by the Division of Evidence-Based Medicine (dEBM), in collaboration with an international group of methodologists.



Prof. Dr. med. Berthold Rzany Sc.M.



Dr. med. Delano Pathirana

Dr. med. Alexander Nast


Extern methodologists

Dr. Anthony D. Ormerod, MD, FRCP

Prof. Philippe Saiag, MD, PhD

Dr. Catherine Smith, MD, FRCP

Dr. Phyllis Spuls, MD, PhD


EDF members

Prof. Jonathan Barker, BSc, MD, FRCP, FRCPath

Prof. Jan D. Bos, MD, PhD

Prof. Sergio Chimenti, MD

Prof. Louis Dubertret, MD

Prof. James Ferguson, MD, FRCP

Dr. Alessandro Giunta, MD

Prof. Christopher Griffiths, MD, FRCP, FRCPath

Dr. Seija-Liisa Karvonen, MD, PhD

Dr. Luigi Naldi, MD

Prof. Jean-Paul Ortonne, MD

Dr. Tapio Rantanen, MD

Prof. Peter van de Kerkhof, MD, PhD


EADV members

Prof. Dr. med. Bernadette Eberlein

Prof. Giampiero Girolomoni, MD

Prof. Herbert Hönigsmann, MD

Prof. Lajos Kemeny, MD, PhD

Prof. Dr. med. Ulrich Mrowietz

Prof. Dr. med. Kristian Reich


Interdisciplinary group

Prof. Gerd-R. Burmester MD, PhD (Rheumatologist)

Dr. Paolo Gisondi MD  (Dermatologist)

Ray Jobling (Patient representative)

Prof. Craig Leonardi MD (Dermatologist, IPC)

Mara Maccarone (Patient representative)

Prof. M. Alan Menter MD (Dermatologist, IPC)

Dr. Tamar Nijsten MD, PhD (Dermatologist)

PD Dr. med. Hans-Dieter Orzechowski (Clinical Pharmacologist)

Dr. Helen Richards, BSc, ClinPsy.D., PhD  (Clinical Psychologist)

Dr. H. Bing Thio MD, PhD  (Dermatologist)


Moderator of the consensus conference

PD Dr. Ina Kopp